Getting Back on Track!

Hello! I think I’m finally beating this blogging and reading slump I’ve been experiencing since last 2015. I remember that I made like, two blogs, which I eventually abandoned last 2015. I don’t know what the hell happened to be honest, I don’t know the reason why I felt like giving up in this blogging world.

ouran

I also made a private blog for my personal life which I also abandoned because it felt like a job. I felt like I need to post everyday, I need to write something about how fucked up my day was and it’s just wasn’t me. I felt like a different person or maybe it’s just not in my nature. I’m more comfortable writing my feelings about the book I’ve read not what happened in my life (and I’m not that popular to be paid attention to).

But now, I’m finally getting back on track! I’ve read five books this year plus I’ve finished reading two mangas (Gakuen Alice and Erased). I’m also starting to write again, like what I am doing now. It feels good to let go my thoughts and it feels so fucking great to write and just let the words take me away.

writing

Ask Me by Kimberly Pauley

askmeTitle: Ask Me
Author: Kimberly Pauley
Genre: Young Adult | Paranormal

Paranormal gets a Stephen King makeover: An oracle in a small-town Florida uses her troubling gift to stop a murderer—before he comes for her.
 

Aria Morse is an Oracle, blessed—or cursed—with the gift of prophecy. Ask her anything, and the truth spills out immediately. But Aria’s answers sound like nonsense, even to herself . . . just as they did to those at Delphi 2,500 years ago. To cope, Aria has perfected the art of hiding in plain sight—until Jade Price, the closest person she has to a friend, disappears.

All of a sudden, everyone around her has questions. The “nonsense” Aria spouts becomes a matter of life and death. Aria may be the only one who can find out what happened to Jade. But the closer she gets to the truth, the closer she comes to being the next target of someone else who hides in plain sight. Someone with a very dark plan.

Ask Me

THOUGHTS

Mixed feelings! There were some parts of the story that I didn’t like but overall it was enjoyable.

I definitely love the concept of Ask me, it was refreshing than the normal mystery thriller out there. However, I felt like it was missing something especially the back story behind the protagonist’s gift. I would love it if the author ventured a little bit more about the Greek mythology. I was sure it would be much more interesting other than Aria being confused about her feelings.

The killer was also so obvious from the start. I think what really made me feel excited is to know if my guess was right, and I am! Moreover, I’m happy that the author risked the story line to provide her readers a unique whodunit.

All in all, it was fun to read about Aria’s life, her struggles to fight her gift and find the truth.

green3

Reading slump! Blame Sherlock!

It’s been so long since I read a book! I’ve been so busy that every time I tried to grab a book I just snoozed. Also, I am currently watching Elementary this past week and just the thought of reading a book make me so tired. I don’t even know why I am writing this non-sense post, and I don’ even know if someone out there is reading this (I hope there is!). It’s just I feel a gnawing guilt, that these books are just lying on the corner waiting for me to read them.

I also missed writing, writing is like my getaway from everything. Writing is like reading a book, but instead of taking me to places I’ve never been before. Writing takes me to places I’ve been before, relieving that feeling and reminiscing those scenes. Maybe that’s the reason I am writing this post. Perhaps I’d like to go back the way things were before. I missed reading books, therefore, I also missed talking about them.

I don’t have any idea how to survive this horrible slump and I hope that by writing this post it will lessen this abhorrent feeling.

In the meantime, I have a case to solve (series to watch).

elementarygif

Enter a caption

 

The Fixer (The Fixer #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

thefixerTitle: The Fixer (The Fixer #1)
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Genre: Young Adult | Mystery

When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous Ivy Kendrick is Washington D.C.’s #1 “fixer,” known for making politicians’ scandals go away for a price. No sooner does Tess enroll at Hardwicke Academy than she unwittingly follows in her sister’s footsteps and becomes D.C.’s premier high school fixer, solving problems for elite teens.

Secrets pile up as each sister lives a double life. . . . until their worlds come crashing together and Tess finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy with one of her classmates and a client of Ivy’s. Suddenly, there is much more on the line than good grades, money, or politics, and the price for this fix might be more than Tess is willing to pay.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for more in this exciting new series.

The Fixer (The Fixer, #1)

THOUGHTS

Wow! I never thought I would loved this book. At first, it was a bit slow and it frustrated be but there’s a reason why this book took so long build up. I definitely loved the characters, especially the protagonist, she was freaking badass. The author made sure that we get to know them better, chapter by chapter. Also, there’s no rush romance in here which is better but I know that there’s a tiny bit there waiting to explode. I definitely want to see the progress of Henry and Ivy in the next book.

I loved the mixture of politics, drama, mystery and suspense. I never thought I would read this kind of story. I’m not a fan of politics myself but the author made sure that I’ll be glued to the story.

The twists in this book made me go, “WHAT?”, and there’s more we need to know! The author isn’t finish yet to break my heart. I can’t wait to read the 2nd book. The fixer is the 1st book I’ve read this year and it didn’t disappoint me at all.

green4

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender

thedeadgirlsofhysteriahallTitle: The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall
Author: Katie Alender
Genre: Young Adult | Horror

In this asylum, your mind plays tricks on you all the time…

Delia’s new house isn’t just a house. Long ago, it was the Piven Institute for the Care and Correction of Troubled Females—an insane asylum nicknamed “Hysteria Hall.” However, many of the inmates were not insane, just defiant and strong willed. Kind of like Delia herself.

But the house still wants to keep “troubled” girls locked away. So, in the most horrifying way, Delia gets trapped.

And that’s when she learns that the house is also haunted.

Ghost girls wander the halls in their old-fashioned nightgowns. A handsome ghost boy named Theo roams the grounds. Delia finds that all the spirits are unsettled and full of dark secrets. The house, as well, harbors shocking truths within its walls—truths that only Delia can uncover, and that may set her free.

But she’ll need to act quickly, before the house’s power overtakes everything she loves.

From master of suspense Katie Alender comes a riveting tale of twisted memories and betrayals, and the meaning of madness.

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall
THOUGHTS

A very refreshing read! What a strange thing to say, to think that this is a horror book. I’ve already read Katie Alender’s Bad Girls Don’t Die and to be honest, I did not enjoy it. However, this book got me really curious because of its title. Reading this book, I honestly have no idea what it is about other than there are dead girls in the hysteria hall.

The protagonist, Delia, a 16-year old teenage girl who inherited a creepy house from her distant great-great-great grandmother. Delia, according to her parents, is a troubled kid who needs some discipline therefore they’d arranged a vacation to stay in the creepy house. Lots of creepy things happened after that which I never thought I would really enjoy.

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall is really different from the other horror books out there. This book has all the elements I was looking for in a story. It’s very well-written and I definitely loved Delia’s character, she’s a snarky teenager who never failed to amuse me because of her narration. Her voice is so real that I felt all of her emotions. I like the way the author made all the other characters like they are really part of the story, do you know what I mean? They all had their moments and that made me to get to know them better and they all had the biggest part of making this book so awesome.

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall has the great balance of humor, teenage angst, creepiness and sadness.

green4

Say Her Name by James Dawson

sayhernameTitle: Say Her Name
Author: James Dawson
Genre: Young Adult | Horror

Roberta ‘Bobbie’ Rowe is not the kind of person who believes in ghosts. A Halloween dare at her ridiculously spooky boarding school is no big deal, especially when her best friend Naya and cute local boy Caine agree to join in too. They are ordered to summon the legendary ghost of ‘Bloody Mary’: say her name five times in front of a candlelit mirror, and she shall appear… But, surprise surprise, nothing happens. Or does it?

Next morning, Bobbie finds a message on her bathroom mirror… five days… but what does it mean? And who left it there? Things get increasingly weird and more terrifying for Bobbie and Naya, until it becomes all too clear that Bloody Mary was indeed called from the afterlife that night, and she is definitely not a friendly ghost. Bobbie, Naya and Caine are now in a race against time before their five days are up and Mary comes for them, as she has come for countless others before… A truly spine-chilling yet witty horror from shortlisted ‘Queen of Teen’ author James Dawson.

Say Her Name
THOUGHTS

This is my first book of James Dawson and it sure did not disappoint me! I’m a horror fanatic and I’ve already read a lot of horror books but they never did actually scare me until I’ve read Say Her Name.

I also love reading stories about Urban Legends and Bloody Mary is one of my favorite stories out there. So when this book popped up on my timeline, I immediately grabbed some money and bought this book.

This book is freakishly scary! I remember when I was a little kid, I was really afraid to say “Bloody Mary” in front of a mirror because I was pretty sure that I was gonna die right after I said her name. Reading “Say Her Name” brought up that memory. I had a hard trouble reading this at night and alone because Dawson’s way of writing surely crept me out. Add the setting to the scary factor, the story is set up at a boarding school exclusive for girls only.

This book is really enjoyable even though it scared the shit out of me and I definitely loved the twists and turns the author gave to his readers and can we talk about the ending? It had me going nuts! I loved the way the author gave as a story of Mary’s past and how she ended up that way.

This book is really perfect for horror fans like me but be sure to this read this book with a light on and please stay away from mirrors!

green4